September 14: Things I’ve Read This Week

I believe I have mentioned the full-time teaching job, and the long commute. However, that does little to get rid of the fact that I still enjoy reading for a while in the evening as a way of unwinding. However, this will turn my book posts into weekly posts for the foreseeable future.


Earth by Jon Stewart
2010, approximately 200 minutes

My first audiobook foray was disappointing. This, however, was anything but. The first thing that I have noticed is that I am a much more visual person than an auditory one. I have a really hard time being able to focus on the threads of a narrative for an extended period of time in the car, while driving and listening. This may have to do with the fact that I am multitasking, but I also prefer reading words. I have an easier time remembering things that I have seen than things I have heard.

Anyway, I have found the perfect audiobook for this!
1. It is funny.
2. It is narrated by the author, the always fabulous Jon Stewart and his Daily Show crew.
3. Did I mention it was funny?

Sadly I do not remember enough to be able to justify these claims, but it’s a good time. I promise.

*Side note* I found Earth, the book version, today. I will have to read it and compare.

Rating: 4 out of 5 bedazzles


Without a Summer by Mary Robinette Kowal
2013, 368 pages

The third entry in the “Glamourist Histories.” It is Jane Austen meets people who can create illusions out of the ether. This entry, not so awesome. The main idea is that the weather in 1816 is so cold that there is no summer, and there is snow even in July. This is being blamed on coldmongerers, glamourists (the magician people) who deal with making things cold in summer. So, essentially, they create the air conditioning instead of machines.

There are riots, and personal problems too. Jane is busy trying to find a husband for her younger sister. In a word, meh.

Rating: 2.5 out of 5 bedazzles


Naked by David Sedaris
2001, 3 hours

This audiobook took me three days to listen to. That was nice. I also figured that since the Jon Stewart audiobook worked out well for me that I would try this one. Also a humor writer, also narrated by the author. (David’s sister, Amy Sedaris, is pretty awesome, she reads many of the female parts of the book in different, ridiculous accents.) However, I did not enjoy this quite as much as I did Earth.

For one thing, what Sedaris sounded like in my head when I read his other books and what he actually sounds like are two very different things. That was odd, and threw me for a bit of a loop. It also seems more serious than some of his other books. Many of the stories talk about his childhood. It just seemed a little down.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5 bedazzles

Leave a Reply

